Creative Resources

Find the resource you need

Our Creative Resources include links to other providers of studios and workspace, gallery and exhibition space, and sources of creative and business development advice and support.

Please contact us if you would like to add a resource to our page

Galleries and exhibition spaces

Aspex www.aspex.org.uk

Art Space www.artspace.co.uk

Jack House Gallery www.jackhousegallery.co.uk

Coastguard Studio www.coastguardstudio.com

Play Dead Studio www.facebook.com/playdeadstudio

Portsmouth Cathedral www.portsmouthcathedral.org.uk

Strong Island www.strongisland.co

King’s Ship Tattoo www.kingsshiptattoo.co.uk

Portsmouth Guildhall www.portsmouthguildhall.org.uk

King’s Theatre www.kingsportsmouth.co.uk

Lakeside www.lakesidenorthharbour.com

Atelier www.facebook.com/Atelier-112212765607516/?fref=ts

White Elephant www.facebook.com/WhiteElephant48/

Workshops

Omega Street Printmakers www.omegaprintmakers.co.uk

Aspex www.aspex.org.uk

Art Space www.artspace.co.uk

Making Space in Havant www.makingspace.org

Clay Station www.theclaystation.co.uk

Make Craft Cafe www.makesouthsea.com

Studio spaces

Art Space www.artspace.co.uk

Making Space – Havant www.makingspace.org

Aspex www.aspex.org.uk

Southsea Castle www.southseacastle.co.uk

Port 57 www.port57.com

Cell Block Studios – Opening late 2016 www.cellblockstudios.com

Creative & cultural networks – local & regional

Cafe Culture www.cafeculture.org.uk
Winchester, Hampshire Monthly networking events for creative people managed jointly by the University of Winchester and Winchester City Council

D-media Network www.d-media-network.com
South East England Membership organisation for digital media businesses and professionals

New Writing South www.newwritingsouth.com/home/introduction.php
South East England New writing development agency, membership organisation

PF Meet www.pfmeet.co.uk
Portsmouth Monthly networking events for freelancers working in and around Portsmouth

Portsmouth Film Society www.portsmouthfilmsociety.org.uk
Portsmouth and south east Hampshire Film screenings, meetings and projects

Strong Island www.strong-island.co.uk
Portsmouth Independent creative community promotes culture, collaboration

Wired Sussex www.wiredsussex.com
East Sussex, West Sussex Membership organisation disseminates digital media news, jobs and project opportunities

Wired Wessex www.wiredwessex.co.uk
Hampshire, surrounding counties. Provides news and information to small businesses in Hampshire, managed by the University of Winchester.

Studio Providers South www.aspacearts.co.uk
An informal group of organisations that provide affordable studio provision to start-up and mid-level creative businesses. Download the 2017 directory here.

Arts, culture and creative industries support services

AN – The Artists Information Company www.a-n.co.uk/news
National Online resource, publications and events supporting visual and applied artists’ professional practice

Ardent Hare www.dada-south.org.uk
South East England Supports disabled and Deaf artists (formerly Dada South)

Arts Council www.artscouncil.org.uk
Regional Support and funding

Artquest www.artquest.org.uk
National Online resource, projects and in events in support of visual artists’ professional practice, hosted by University of the Arts London

Arts & Business www.aandb.org.uk
National Learning and development opportunities, tailored fundraising advice and resources for organisations seeking partnerships with business

Arts Professional www.artsprofessional.co.uk
National Magazine and online resource for arts professionals

Axis www.axisweb.org
National Online resource for contemporary UK art and artists

City Eye www.city-eye.co.uk
Southampton Filmmaking and digital media facilities, training, networks

Benchpeg www.benchpeg.com
National Supports British jewellery and allied trades through a website, enews, resources

Creative Boom www.creativeboom.co.uk
National Online resource and network community celebrates and supports UK creative industries

Creative & Cultural Skills www.ccskills.org.uk
National Sector Skills Council (SSC) for crafts, cultural heritage, design, literature, music, performing, and visual arts

Creative Choices www.creative-choices.co.uk
National Online resource offers industry news and insights, careers advice, jobs and opportunities developed by Creative & Cultural Skills, the Sector Skills Council (SSC) for the creative and cultural industries

Creative Skillset www.creativeskillset.org
National Creative Industries’ Sector Skills Council (SSC) for TV, film, radio, interac4ve media, animation, computer games, photo imaging, publishing, advertising, fashion and textiles

Creative Commons www.creativecommons.org
International Provides free ‘some rights reserved’ copyright licenses that allow creative works to be copied, distributed, edited, remixed and built upon within the boundaries of copyright law

Designers and Artists Copyright Society (DACS) www.dacs.org.uk
National Visual arts rights management organisation generates and distributes royalties money to artists through its ‘Payback’, ‘Artist’s Resale Right’ and ‘Copyright Licensing’ schemes

Nest Portsmouth www.nest.community/resources/
Local Start Up incubator at The University of Portsmouth. Some courses and their resource page is open to all.

National University of the Arts London managed intellectual property advice service

Screen South www.screensouth.org
Southern England Regional development agency supports screen-based media projects and producers

Voluntary Arts www.voluntaryarts.org
National, regional Promotes participation in the arts and crafts, provides information and training to those who participate in the voluntary arts sector

Business links

Business Link www.businesslink.gov.uk 
National Government online resource for businesses

Chambers of Commerce www.britishchambers.org.uk
National Over 50 accredited Chambers of Commerce represent 100,000 UK business members

Companies House www.companieshouse.gov.uk
National All limited companies in England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland are registered at Companies House, an executive agency of the Government Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS)

Creative England www.creativeengland.co.uk/business
National Investment and development

Creative Industry Finance www.creativeindustryfinance.org.uk 
National Advice and development for established creative businesses.

Creative Network South www.creativenetworksouth.co.uk/business-support/
Regional Advice, networking and development

Enterprise Nation www.enterprisenation.com
National
Small business support services

Enterprise First www.enterprisefirst.co.uk
Regional Small business support services

Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs (HMRC) www.hmrc.gov.uk/businesses
National UK government department administrates the registration of new businesses and freelancers, business taxes (including self-assessment)

Innovation Space www.innovationspace.org.uk/business-support/
Local Events, networking

Portsmouth City Council www.portsmouth.gov.uk/ext/business/business/business-support.aspx
Local Business support and advice.

Prince’s Trust www.princes-trust.org.uk
National Trust dedicated to enhancing young people’s skills development and employability, including business start-up

Solent Growth Hub www.solentgrowthhub.co.uk
Regional Loans, grants, advice and support

Start-up Donut www.startupdonut.co.uk
National Resources for businesses, plus sister sites Law, Marketing, IT Donut and Tax Donut

Keep up to date with the Hotwalls Studios
Be the first to get the latest Hotwalls Studios updates straight to your inbox.
Stay Updated
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.
close-link
Are you a creative interested in future events & opportunities at the Hotwalls studios?
Be the first to get the latest Hotwalls Studios updates straight to your inbox.
Keep in Touch
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.
close-link